MSERA Mentors


The MSERA mentors are experienced, generally long-term members of the organization who volunteer their expertise to graduate student and newer members of the organization who may wish to seek advice on any phase of their own research, evaluation or development efforts.  Below are listed the current mentors with contact information.  Feel free to get in touch with the member(s) whose area(s) of expertise most closely match with your area of interest.  This service was an outgrowth of a committee chaired initially by Carolyn Reeves-Kazelskis.  Currently, Linda Morse serves as chair of the mentors group.  At the annual meetings, there are typically two sessions set aside for students and anyone else interested in meeting with and getting suggestions from mentors.

Mentor

Area(s) of expertise

e-mail

Judy Boser Survey research, teacher preparation, evaluation Boser@utk.edu
Harry Bowman Research design, quantitative data analysis, evaluation, instrument development bowmanh@comcast.net
Nola Christenberry Counselor supervision, counseling program development, adolescent suicide. nolac@cox-internet.com
Bill Deaton Statistical analysis, measurement, research design deatonsummit@aol.com
Larry Daniel Research methodology, leadership, educational accountability ldaniel@unf.edu
Jeffrey Gorrell Educational psychology, evaluation jgorrell@gmu.edu
Gerald Halpin Statistics gehalpin@auburn.edu
Glennelle Halpin Educational psychology ghalpin@auburn.edu
Clifford Hofwolt Attitudes, science education Clifford.hofwolt@vanderbilt.edu
Carolyn Reeves Kazelskis Literacy, reading, attitudes, teacher education Carolyn.reeves@usm.edu
Richard Kazelskis Research, statistics, measurement Richard.Kazelskis@usm.edu
Rob Kennedy Research, statistics, educational technology rlkennedy@uams.edu
Jimmy Lindsey Special education, learning disability, reading technology jlindsey@cox.net
Carl R. Martray Cognition, achievement motivation, behavior management Martray_cr@mercer.edu
Walter Mathews Administration in higher education Wmathews13@lycos.com
James E. McLean Research methods, statistics, measurement, accountability, action research Jmclean@bamaed.ua.edu
David Morse Measurement applications, statistics, evaluation, creativity/giftedness dmorse@ra.msstate.edu
Linda Morse Educational psychology, research lmorse@colled.msstate.edu
William A. Person Classroom interaction, non-verbal communication, problems of secondary education, pupil attitudes toward standardized testing person@grad.msstate.edu

Ava Pugh Science education, elementary education, learning styles/multiple intelligence apugh@ulm.edu
Qaisar Sultana Special education law, special education teacher preparation/quality/ retention, teaching effectiveness Qaisar.sultana@eku.edu

Note: We do have photographs of several of the mentors, but many are camera-shy and feel that it's what's inside that counts.